Does life begin after 30 posts?


This is my 30th post since I started blogging on this site on 7 March this year (the day before I started my new business behr outcomes). Prior to that I had done a couple of edited blogs for my previous employer, the Royal Society.

Using a rule of posting at least once a week but with a minimum of 2 clear days between each post, I feel I have stuck to a pattern of some kind. From the stats this seems to have had variable impact, my most read post happening in early July and coinciding with a major maths education conference, so this was  achieved through good timing and the use of a relevant trending Twitter hash tag.

Here are 5 facts about outcomes from all of this activity after 30 posts.

  1. There are many reasons why people read blogs, some of which may coincide with your own personal agenda.
  2. You can improve your blogging by learning from others, but it takes time to really make a mark on your own.
  3. You need to decide how closely you want to link a blog to public information about other activities that you undertake such as running a business, working for an employer, doing charity work or a hobby etc. There are arguments both for and against separating these.
  4. It makes sense to occasionally promote your posts via Twitter using a hash tag in the title, assuming that the timing is relevant to a key issue. Over-using popular hash tags may not be worth it in the end.
  5. The really big fish in the world of knowledge brokering are independent professionals who have built up a core following e.g. Seth Godin. They have something special to offer such as an illuminating book, the secrets of their success or privileged access to others more worthy than themselves.

Does life begin after 30 posts? I think this may well be true as only now do I feel I have the courage of saying what I really think (despite any consequences to family or business) and surely this is the real benefit of blogging.

My next post will hopefully prove the point. You can read it when it comes out between Thursday and Sunday (not sure when yet, but it’s the only rule I’m following).

