If your gran understands what you do then a wolf might #littleredridinghood


I read a great saying recently by Albert Einstein: “You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother.”

When applied to your work this means if your gran can’t understand what you do then perhaps you need to change your job description (or employment!).

I was thinking of an imaginary example where I happen to share my grandma with Little Red Riding Hood ….

“Who’s at the door?’

“Mr Smith from Routine Surveys. I am not a wolf.”

“Well come in then”

“Thank you Madam. Sorry to inconvenience you but I’m doing a survey of households. It won’t take a moment. You have only one question to answer.”

“And what is it?”

“What do your grandchildren do?”

“My grandson is a knowledge broker who helps bridge the gaps between facts, outcomes and benefits. So if anyone wanted help, for example, trying to find suitable food in the midst of winter, then he would:

  • look at the available evidence e.g. best potential food sources
  • link this to measurable outcomes e.g. you have managed to catch 3 edible items, and
  • ensure you get real benefits e.g. you’ll have to release 2 of these items as they’ll struggle too much, but the last one looks like she’ll kept quiet as you fill your grumbling stomach.”

“Very helpful Madam, though not sure why you used that particular example in my case as I’m NOT a wolf. What about your granddaughter?”

“How did you know I had one? She’ll be here soon so you can ask her yourself.”

“Do you mind if I put on your bonnet and hop into your bed? This usually makes the respondent feel less threatened.”

“Fine but aren’t you going to eat me first?”

2 thoughts on “If your gran understands what you do then a wolf might #littleredridinghood

  1. Great!

    Michael

    From: behrfacts <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: behrfacts <comment+p3k39rjvhf6kbbe54ldqe9@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Wednesday, 10 October 2012 11:49 To: Michael Reiss <m.reiss@ioe.ac.uk> Subject: [New post] If your gran understands what you do then a wolf might #littleredridinghood

    behrfacts posted: “I read a great saying recently by Albert Einstein: “You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother.” When applied to your work this means if your gran can’t understand what you do then perhaps you need to change yo”

  2. Pingback: 10 reasons why 2013 will be different from 2012, including this post « behrfacts

Comments are closed.