How not to motivate yourself to be self-motivated and other forms of punishment


I have been putting off going for a jog all day long and as the darkness descends it is clear that I’m not going to make it.

My justifications for doing this?

  • I did get another draft of the report I am currently working on out to the commissioners
  • I was feeling a bit under the weather today
  • I kept thinking that it would get warmer as the day went on, but it never did
  • Sometimes it’s easier not to do too much on a Sunday (day of rest etc?)

Well I’m afraid none of the above feel sufficient. Fact is that I just put if off. So as punishment I am now going to cycle even further on the exercise bike.

The instrument of punishment

The instrument of punishment

Perhaps I just enjoy telling myself off all the time. Is this a motivational technique or some form of public humiliation?

No idea, but it works.

One thought on “How not to motivate yourself to be self-motivated and other forms of punishment

  1. Pingback: The mid-year post. Goals to do and see. | behrfacts

Comments are closed.