You don’t have to be religious to appreciate Easter


I don’t belong to any particular religion, though I do have my own personal views about belief.

But as Easter Sunday gets closer I start to feel semi-religious. Why?

Because I associate Easter with warm family memories from childhood. Listening to St Matthew’s Passion, organising an egg hunt, being together with one’s nearest and dearest, even going to church. This then becomes linked to a feeling of gratitude that religion has given us a brief opportunity to reflect on our lives – which no longer happens at Christmas, more an annual excuse for overindulgence.

Spring is a time of new beginnings, for green shoots to appear, for creative thinking to emerge from a long winter of hibernation.

So thank you religions for giving us Easter.

I just hope you don’t mind if I use it for my own purposes.

