The 101st post – mapping your life path


This is my 101st post and a milestone in just over a year of blogging.

I’ve previously celebrated a significant milestone in my 60th post. That coincided with the Rolling Stones’ 50 years in rock and roll. Last weekend I caught a quick glimpse of Mick Jagger’s ex-wife Jerry Hall on the balcony of her house in London which she apparently still co-owns with him, though they are disputing on whether to sell it.

The subject my 101st post is a route (P.S. US Highway 101 is a famous one in California, for which the road sign is above).

The route I want to blog about is to do with creating a life path. How do you get from birth to death, perhaps even making it to 101 years, having fulfilled all your lifetime aspirations or goals?

There are plenty of books to read about target setting or making bucket lists. I read one a few decades back and as a result have written down a list of 10 personal goals which I am not allowed to share with anyone. Some of them are deliberately bold and ambitious. But I am determined to achieve them all if I possibly can. In order to do this I am obliged to read the list, and its motivating preamble,  to myself every day.

I did share an aspect of one goal with a small group once. It was about seeing the great ancient temples of SE Asia such as Angkor Wat and Borobudur.

Borobudur temple view from northwest plateau, Central Java, Indonesia. By Gunawan Kartapranata.

Borobudur temple view from northwest plateau, Central Java, Indonesia.
By Gunawan Kartapranata.

The solution was to do this, but not by physically traveling there, rather imagining such a journey including the sights, sounds and smells of that part of the world. This saved on the budget and the environment.

It shows you that sometimes a part of what you really want in life may not be as demanding as it first seems.

2 thoughts on “The 101st post – mapping your life path

  1. Congratulations on your 101st Nick. Imagination is a powerful thing isn’t it. Funnily enough we are heading to Angkor Wat & Vietnam next March/April to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We’ll ‘feel’ the Wat for you 🙂

Comments are closed.