I hope today’s ResearchED 2014 conference produces real benefits for education


I attended the inaugural ResearchED 2013 conference last September at Dulwich College and blogged about it here (this became my most viewed post, but that’s another story …).

It was a great conference because it was raw, novel and a bit chaotic, covered a huge amount of ground on the topic of education research, and brought together all shades of enthusiast from teachers to researchers to varieties of educationist (such as myself).

I’m not going today to ResearchED 2014 because it’s inevitably going to be a bit tamer than the original, like the second album of a breakthrough group – I’m thinking for example ‘October’ by U2 compared to ‘Boy’. Also, Michael Gove was down to speak in his role as previous Minister for Education in England – he wasn’t my ‘cup of tea’ and would have given the conference too much of a Government stamp for my liking – he was shuffled in July, but he is being replaced by the Schools Minister on the day.

However, I do wish it well and hope that the discussions on the day prove beneficial for education in a concrete way – I’m sure Tom Sherrington (or headguruteacher) will be as thought-provoking as ever having just seen this post about his planned talk – I’d love everyone to continue to break the mould, just like the charismatic school teens from ‘Educating the East End’.

One thought on “I hope today’s ResearchED 2014 conference produces real benefits for education

Comments are closed.